News Article Details

Local students' achievements recognized

Vinton County Courier - 5/17/2017

With the school year winding down, the Board of Education took time at its May 15 meeting to recognize the many successes and achievements of students in the Vinton County Local School District.

Those recognized on Monday include:

The Vikings basketball team for its league, sectional and district championshipsTen district students who competed in the Special Olympics at Rio GrandeSenior Alexis Smith for receiving the Franklin B. Walter All-Scholastic Award and Ohio University Cutler ScholarshipMiddle School Science Olympiad Team members for being state qualifiers for a second-straight yearMiddle School Beta Club members for their success at the Ohio Jr. Beta State Convention; student Ashley Forrest was named the new secretaryfor the statewide Jr. Beta Club.High School Information Technology students for their success in national competition. The Network Design Team of Chase Newsome, Nathaniel Leonard-Weaver, Brett Davis, Steven Craig placed in the top 10, as did the Mobile Application Development Team of Jordan Kerns and Jacob Ross.High School student Nakita Keaton for her success in competing in a Personal Finance Management project. Keaton finished first in regional competition, fifth place at state competition and in the Top 10 nationally.Another VCHS student, Ben Johnson, was part of a Buckeye Hills Career Center team which earned first place in Occupational Health and Safety. Johnson was among many students recognized at a recent Gallia-Jackson-Vinton Joint Vocational School District Board meeting.

The Board conducted numerous other pieces of business at the May 15 meeting. Among them:

Accepted donations of $500 from Bellisio Foods for Prom; $50 from the Jackson Rotary Club for Prom; and $1,565 from Vinton County Alumni for the LED sign at VCHS.

Appointed Dennis McKibben as a member of the McArthur Park Board.Approved agreements with the St. Francis Evangelization Center and the COAD/RSVP of the Ohio Valley, both for the 2017 Summer Rural Meals Delivery Project.Approved agreement with Ohio University to provide athletic trainer services for the 2017-18 school year at a cost of $10,800.Approved agreement with Meta Solutions for information technology services within the district, including broadband services.Hired Kristina Ford as teacher and approved additional 2-year contract for South Elementary Principal Miranda Smith.Accepted resignations of teachers Robert Gallagher, Anthony Lamb, Brian DeLong and John Knight; accepted resignation of custodian Jack Holsinger. Lamb also resigned as assistant varsity football coach.Accepted custodian John Chesser's retirement notification.Approved 2017-18 supplemental contracts for Melina Cooper (home tutor), Mike Barrell (head varsity baseball coach), Sarah Finch (Title I extended day learning tutor); Kevin Niese (music); Rashel Fallon (vocational agriculture); Michelle Rippeth (guidance counselor); Jon Lindner (head varsity boys track coach); Josh Kirkpatrick (head varsity girls track coach); Marsha Ward (Flag corp/majorette advisor); Jeremy Ward (head varsity girls softball coach); Ashley Graves (girls assistant varsity softball coach); Andrew Barrell (boys assistant varsity baseball coach); Sonja Mendes (varsity football and basketball cheerleading advisor)(; Starr Brown (JV football and basketball cheerleading advisor). Also approved Melanie Signoracci and Brett Jones and middle and high school cross country coaches.


Driving   Walking/Biking    Get Directions