News Article Details

MCISD recognizes students at Special Olympics Banquet

The Valley Town Crier - 5/31/2018

Mission CISD Special Education hosted their Special Olympics Banquet on Friday, May 18, 2018 to recognize the athletes that participated in various sports. Over eighty students were presented with certificates for their accomplishments. Ms. Tahnee Netro, Special Education Director, welcomed attendees to the special event.

"Good evening and thank you all for being here," stated Ms. Netro. "We are honoring all the wonderful athletes that have participated in various Special Olympics events. Tonight, is an evening of recognition and celebration for all our athletes."

Parents and students were in attendance for the 70's themed event. Many of the students, teachers, and parents wore their best "Saturday Night Fever" outfit and were excited to take pictures in front of the glittery backdrop.

Certificates were awarded to the students which were called by campus and then a total of 18 lettermen jackets were presented to the following students: Priscilla Anguiano (VMHS), Emily Gonzalez (VMHS), Alfonso Sanchez (VMHS), Kerry Keller (VMHS), Sebastian Llamas (VMHS), Cesario Peña (VMHS, Jazmin Villanueva (VMHS), Javier Alonso (VMHS), Pedro Treviño (VMHS), Ethan Linares (VMHS), Bryan Arellano (VMHS), Jacklyn Porcayo (MHS), Raylene Vela (MHS), Ramiro Olivares (MHS), Anna Villarreal (MHS), Rachael Navarro (MHS), Marittima Cassiano (MHS), and Carlos Gutierrez (MHS).

The Special Education department also named the 2018 Female and Male athletes of the Year, Rising Star Athletes, Most Improved Athlete, and Sportsmanship Award. The following students received those awards; Male Athlete of the Year- Carlos Gutierrez, Female Athlete of the Year- Raylene Vela, Male Athlete of the Year – Bryan Arellano, Female Athlete of the Year- Jasmin Villanueva, Rising Star Athlete- Julian Rodriguez, Rising Star Athlete- Emiliano Ramos, Rising Star Athlete- Michael Tinoco, Rising Star Athlete- Nathaniel Rodriguez, Most Improved Athlete- Jesus Frankie Torres, and Sportsmanship Award – Kerry Keller.


Driving   Walking/Biking    Get Directions